

Resolution 24-01

WHEREAS Colorado Mesa University is western Colorado's regional comprehensive University focused on providing students and families the opportunity for a better life through education; AND

WHEREAS fully half of CMU students are the first in their family to attend college; AND

WHEREAS Colorado Mesa University is an indispensable hub of intellectual and cultural diversity in our region and State; AND

WHEREAS the Colorado Mesa University Board of Trustees has endeavored to support and create an atmosphere on campus that is grounded in open inquiry, viewpoint diversity, and constructive disagreement that encourages students, faculty, staff and members of the community to exercise their First Amendment right to free speech; AND

WHEREAS the Colorado Mesa University Board of Trustees passed a formal resolution adopting the Chicago Statement in September of 2020; AND

WHEREAS the CMU Civic Forum initiative engages hundreds of individuals each year via debates, lectures, panel discussions and other special events; AND

WHEREAS fostering an environment that encourages intellectual diversity, academic freedom and rigorous inquiry is of utmost importance to the Colorado Mesa University Board of Trustees; AND

WHEREAS the Colorado Mesa University Board of Trustees fully embraces the institutional value of humility when approaching difficult policy questions; AND

WHEREAS the Colorado Mesa University Board of Trustees strives to avoid taking any action that would have a chilling effect on the exercise of free speech and academic inquiry across campus;

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT THE COLORADO MESA UNIVERSITY BOARD OF TRUSTEES hereby adopts a formal position of Institutional Neutrality as a commitment to refrain from taking public positions on social or political issues unless the issue is materially related to the core mission and functioning of the University.

ADOPTED AND APPROVED ON THIS 12th DAY OF December, 2024.



BOARD OF TRUSTEES FOR COLORADO MESA UNIVERSITY

Tim Fry, Chair Lori Buck, Vice Chair Kasia Iwaniczko MacLeod, Secretary Gary Reiff, Treasurer Alison Griffin Ron Davis Charles Dukes David Foster Daniel Ramos Joyce Sekharan Dominick Moreno Brian Parry, Faculty Trustee Kylie Graham, Student Trustee